Mobile Logo in White

Network Leadership


Barbara Robles-Ramamurthy, MD

UT Health San Antonio

Dr. Robles Ramamurthy is an Adult, Child and Forensic Psychiatrist. She was born and raised in Mexico and immigrated to South Texas at the age of 12. She was a recipient of the Premedical Honors College program which awarded a full tuition and fees scholarly to college at the University of Texas Pan American (now UTRGV) and medical school at Baylor College of Medicine, where she graduated in 2012. She completed her psychiatry residency at the University of Pennsylvania, child psychiatry fellowship at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and forensic psychiatry fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Robles-Ramamurthy’s scholarly work has focused on diversity, health equity and inclusion with a focus on youth and families interacting with multiple systems, such as the legal, immigration and educational systems. She has been an active member of the American Psychiatric Association and the American Academy of Child and  Adolescent Psychiatry.

MartinezC resized

Cervando Martinez, MD

UT Health San Antonio

Dr. Cervando Martinez is the past director of the Psychiatry PBRN in addition to being the Professor of Psychiatry and Family Practice at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He has an interest in the treatment of chronic and severe mental disorders in the community. Dr. Martinez was part of the team that developed the Regional Academic Health Center of UTHSCSA.

GelfondS resized

Stephen D. Gelfond, MD

Brooke Army Medical Center

Dr. Stephen D. Gelfond is a past president of the Bexar County Medical Society and Bexar County Psychiatric Society, Distinguished Life Fellow of the APA and Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine. Dr. Gelfond is a founding and Executive Committee member of the South Texas Psychiatric PBRN.

DeuterM resized

Melissa Deuter, MD

Sigma Mental Health Urgent Care

Dr. Melissa Deuter is currently a private psychiatrist in San Antonio, Texas.  She graduated from the University Of Arkansas College Of Medicine.  Dr. Deuter has served as the President of the South Bexar Psychiatric Society in 2009 and is currently on the Executive Committee for the South Texas Psychiatric PBRN.


Ricardo Salazar, MD

Texas Tech University Health Sciences

Dr. Ricardo Salazar is a founding and Executive Committee member of the South Texas Psychiatric PBRN. Dr. Salazar received his MD from the Pontificia Bolivariana University School of Medicine in Colombia. He is the Division Chief for the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center-El Paso and an Adult and Geriatric Psychiatrist with particular interest between the interface of psychiatry and other medical specialties, cognition, catatonia, dementias, as well as mood and anxiety disorders.