Mobile Logo in White

Bartter Professorship

Bartter Professorship

Frederic C. Bartter, MD, was an internationally recognized endocrinologist and clinical researcher who described Bartter’s syndrome, a rare, inherited renal defect. For many years, Dr. Bartter was Chief of the hypertension endocrine branch of the National Heart, Lung and Blood institute of the National Institutes of Health. He came to San Antonio in 1978, where he served as a faculty member at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and at the South Texas Veteran’s Health Care System, Audie Murphy Division VA Hospital, where he was the original Principal Investigator for the General Clinical Research Center.

After Dr. Bartter’s death in 1983, the Bartter family established a two-day visiting professorship in his memory. The Bartter Professor delivers Department of Medicine Grand Rounds and a Research Seminar. In addition, the professorship provides UT Health Science Center faculty, fellows and trainees an opportunity to interact with premier clinical investigators from around the country. It also allows the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science to receive feedback and critique from the visiting professors regarding our research and education programs.

The two-day Bartter Professorship is held in the fall of each year, typically in October or November, with the dates dependent on the schedule of the visiting professor.

Since 1992, the professorship has included a diverse and impressive list of individuals.

UT Health Science Center at San Antonio Frederic C. Bartter Visiting Professors
Year Bartter Professor Institution
1992 Donald Seldin, M.D. University of Texas-Southwestern, Dallas, TX
1993 Charles Pak, M.D. University of Texas-Southwestern, Dallas, TX
1995 Arthur E. Broadus, M.D. Yale University, New Haven, CN
1996 David Robertson, M.D. Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
1997 B. Lawrence Riggs, M.D. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
1998 Alan C. Moses, M.D. Beth Israel Medical Center, Boston, MA
1999 Steven R. Cummings, M.D. University of California at San Francisco, CA
2000 Gregory R. Mundy, M.D. University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, TX
2001 Raymond Woosley, M.D., Ph.D. University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
2002 John Mazziota, M.D. University of California at Los Angeles, CA
2003 Lawrence Moreland, M.D. University of Alabama at Birmingham, AL
2004 Harry P. Selker, M.D. Tufts New England Medical Center, Boston, MA
2005 Lawrence G. Raisz, M.D. University of Connecticut School of Medicine, Farmington, CT
2006 Rosalind Ramsey-Goldman, M.D. Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, IL
2007 Lars Berglund, M.D., Ph.D. University of California, Davis School of Medicine, Davis, CA
2008 Gordon R. Bernard, M.D. Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
2009 Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, PhD, MD, MAS University of California, San Francisco, CA
2010 Wishwa N. Kapoor, MD, MPH University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA
2011 Elena Volpi, MD, PhD UT Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
2012 Kurt Kroenke, MD Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN
2013 Mary Lenora (Nora) Disis, MD, FACP University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, WA
2014 Jasjit S. Ahluwalia, MD, MPH, MS University of Minnesota Medical School and School of Public Health, Minneapolis, MN
2015 Julian Solway, MD The University of Chicago Medicine, Chicago, IL
2016 Larry Schlesinger, MD The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
2017 Timothy F. Murphy, MD University at Buffalo, SUNY Buffalo, NY
2018 Patricia L. Winokur, MD University of Iowa-Carver College of Medicine
2019 L. Ebony Boulware, MD Duke University, Durham, NC
2020 Donald McClain, MD, PhD Wake Forest School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, NC
2021 Louise D. McCullough MD, PhD McGovern Medical School UTHealth-Houston
2022 Allan D. Brasier, MD University of Wisconsin-Madison
2023 Emma A. Meagher, MD University of Pennsylvania